35mm for portrait stuff? hiding to nothing or a good idea?

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
No
First off, I'm a newbie to photography not just film. Ive had a Digi SLR since just before Christmas and I've learnt a mountain of stuff because i can fire away with the digi and see what happens (at around 5/6000 clicks so far) but I'm drawn more and more to film. Initially as I couldn't afford, nor justify, a D700 but more so now because everything I see from film has such a rich texture and feel to it. Ideally Id get a digi back for a medium format but as my kidneys aint worth that much its never going to happen. Realistically neither is medium format, even if get the camera and lens the processing costs will kill me.

So my question is, is 35mm worth playing with for portrait stuff or should I put my money aside for my inevitable purchase of a D700? My flickr shows the sort of stuff I normally take photos of, a large portion of which is low light wide open candid stuff-therefore film is going to get v expensive v quickly as a lot of shots aren't going to come off that well and im not sure it would translate that well.

I had thought manual film body with b and w film and an 85mm lens and just use it as a portrait camera but maybe thats a bit of a waste. Im a bit lost as you can tell, need to decide whether to put some cash into film or just bide my time and go full frame (which i will do regardless at some point)

other issue is that i start uni again after the summer (med school) so time and money will be at a premium, poss a digi SLR lends itself to that situation more. cheers for persevering and reading to the end!

Have just looked at your flickr and there is some nice stuff in there (y)

As a user of film I would say yes, for me film and portrait just can't be matched by digital.

HOWEVER