Advice on upgrade from Portaflash system

Name
Gillian
Edit My Images
Yes
I have been using Portaflash 336VM heads for 4 years now and apart from the odd misfire and replacement head, I have been very pleased with the set up. It has been a useful way to learn studio work. However, on location the venues are large and I have plenty of space to set up with reasonable distance from subjects to backdrop and find that the Portaflash is not powerful enough for what is required especially blowing out the backdrop evenly.

I have read on a couple of forums that slate both Portaflash and Interfit in favour of Elinchrom and Bowens.

Can anyone give me an idea of how I go about choosing a complete new set up with a reliable brand that won't bust the budget. To start with, I need 4 flash heads with modelling lamps, 2 soft boxes, 2 umbrellas and radio triggers.

A big ask I know, but I need a starting off point. How did you choose your set up and were you able to go to a retailer for a test with your camera etc? If so, who were they and where are they based. I am in Mid Wales and there is nowhere around here to go.

Thanks Gillian

The Portaflash is basically a manual hotshoe flash which runs off the mains and just about anything will be a massive upgrade.

Elinchrom and Bowens both make good equipment, but you'll be paying over the odds for the name with Bowens and over the odds for the accessories with Elinchrom - and it's the accessories that are important.

I recommend Lencarta - I'm their techie - which are very similar to Bowens but at much more attractive prices. A lot of suppliers, including Lencarta, don't sell through retailers because doing so would make their equipment much more expensive. Instead, you buy direct from the website and simply return the goods for full credit if you're not happy with them. The law gives you 7 days, Lencarta gives you 30 days so it's a good way of doing things.