Becoming pro

Edit My Images
No
I'd like to ask the professional photographers among you how you got into it.

I'm basically at a point in my life where I feel like I'm at a crossroads. My job/CV is all to do with New Media type stuff and a little bit of journalism (which I have a degree in) thrown in. But I'm not really enjoying it anymore and I'm wondering if I should attempt to find a career in photography, which I enjoy immensely.

I'm not sure what type of photography I'd be able to do to a professional level. Press photography appeals to me most, I think, with the only real downside being the freelance, contact-based nature of the work (but I realise that applies to most pro photography). The stuff I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be suited to is probably weddings and products, though I realise the money's good for both. I actually think weddings is something I could do if I had the confidence, but I'd need to follow someone around a good three or four times before I felt like I knew the score. And where am I going to find someone who'd show me around without thinking I was gonna steal his business in future? Probably nowhere.

A few of the pics I took when I went to visit my friend who works on the Henley Standard got published last week but apart from that I can't really say I've had anything used properly.

I know any career change usually means a drop in pay but I could sustain that for a while at the moment. Maybe a year or two if I knew that I'd definitely get back up to the money I'm on at the moment. But I guess you never know.

One of the main things putting me off is that my friend Jeff, who I regard as a very talented photographer and who was/is one of my main inspirations, is having a pretty hard time getting jobs since he left the website he was working for full-time.

So, to get back to my original question, can any of you pros give me advice/tips/life stories on how you got into it etc?

Thank you.