Beginner Filters

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi been looking at Nd filters not looking for high end at moment as I am fairly new to it all.
Found a set of 3 filters 3 stop 6 stop 10 stop with case and cleaning cloths for £40 on K&H site. Just wondering if anyone else has used these are they any good for a starter set or would I be wasting money any help much appreciated.

In this day and age with modern software and cameras I would question if they are needed.
Exposure bracketing is easily done with a modern camera and software and things like Lightroom have graduated filters built in.
IMO the only two you need are a 10 stop if you want soft water ( although if your camera has an intervalometer you can do that anyway) and a polarizing filter

For landscape/coastal I only really use a CPL & a 6 stop ND - unless you want silly 5 minute daytime exposures that's pretty much enough.

Mine are Hoya HD/Haida.

Personally, I would save up and get a decent set of filters.

I disagree that you do not need ND filters and strongly disagree that the 10 stop is all you need. I carry a 3,6 and 10 stop and the 10 stop is my least used filter because I don't much like that ugly, milky, flowing water look with no texture or detail. The 10 stop has it's place but is often used by lazy photographers to create what they like to call "fine art".

A CPL for landscape photography is a must IMO. Great for taking the glare out of windows, water or even leaves after rain. Improves contract and vibrancy. You can't replicate that in post.

I use Kase Revolution filters, the glass is strengthened and has a hydroscopic coating and I'm sure there are others out there that are decent. Cheap filters are usually cheap glass and have colour casts that can be difficult to remove.