First stacked photo: A Dragonfly

Name
Gez
Edit My Images
No
This is my first attempt at a stacked photo and this image is the best of the batch. Luckily this dragonfly settled on a potted plant and was happy enough with me moving the pot to arrange a more interesting composition. They were taken with a Sigma 105mm at f/4 and the composite is made up of 10 jpg images stacked together using Affinity Photo. I got the feeling quite early on that this was a challenging photo do to the complexity and multi-layered depth of the background, and had to do a fair bit of editing to bring the various leaves into a semblance of order, as the software wasn't 100% at deciding which in-focus element was in the foreground. I'm wondering if my take is a bit different to other Macro shots, I would be interested to hear any comments.

Right, onto the next one...

<a data-flickr-embed="true" href="https://www.flickr.com/photos/193383517@N05/51295423185/in/dateposted-public/" title="Hawker In the Green">Hawker In the Green

Last edited:
I think that is a very difficult type of stack. I don't use focus stacking for insects etc, but I do use it quite a lot for flowers. I get a lot of problems with scenes like that where there are lots of things that you want in focus overlapping one another.

It's difficult to be sure at the posted size, but I get the impression that the dragonfly has suffered, especially its wings, which look very variable in definition, in the interests of getting a deep background.

I think most people would be trying to isolate the subject from a complex background like that, although in this case I think it would probably be difficult. (I can try to explain why if you are interested.) As it happens I like the idea of what you have tried to achieve here but I think it is very difficult to pull off. So much so that it is the sort of scene (or the equivalent thereof with flowers) that I would almost certainly use a single shot for.

Thanks for your comment.