help! portraits, manual focus and film speed

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
No
Apologies in advance for mistakes in terminology I really am a total newbie. Thinking, possibly maybe buying a manual film camera. For 2 reasons really:

can't afford a D700 and would like something that produces that gorgeous texture you find with film cameras.

soo, i was thinking a Nikon fm camera with either a 50mm or 85mm lens because I have a 35 on my DSLR and the film camera (im thinking at the mo but open to suggestions) will be for posed portraits more than candids and street stuff. With that in mind i was thinking intially at least b and white film to keep it simpler (and cheaper to process) but have no idea what sort of speed. The fact i can change the ISO on digi is one of the reasons ive shyed away from film in the past, that and the fact that most of the time i take photos in dark conditions (but would use my digi for this not the film camera) so being committed to one ISO speed for umpteen pics is a bit scary.

so if you had to choose 1 b and w film for portrait work what speed and brand etc would it be? I live in sunny madrid so would 400 be too sensitive?

damn im so green it hurts

ive just thought- a 85mm af-d lens will still work on manual wont it? just means less choice of aperture ie 1.8 then 2 then 4 eetc?

damn ive got used to being able to use intermediate stops

You have to see what speed is better for the type of light conditions you shoot more often.
Generally ASA 400 is the best for general use.

About the lens, you can use the 85mm AF in a manual focus camera, setting the aberture in the lens ring. It's very easy and a process which gives more pleasure.
I use to have a Canon 5D and i just used manual focus lenses with it, from Leica, Olympus, Contax or Nikon.

Why don't you consider a nice 85mm f/2.0 Ai or Ai-S? It's cheaper than the AF, the built quality is a lot better and the mechanics/feeling are in a different class.