how has digital changed you?

M

mtw

I'm looking for people to talk with about how digital technology has changed their photography - the technologies that have to be brought together, the new knowledge and skills needed, but most of all how photography and the meaning and purpose of photographs is being challenged and changed.

I'm a university researcher employed on a publicly funded project, which work on digital photography is part of. So, if you'd be interested in talking, it'd be great to hear from you, and I'll be happy to tell you more. Ideally I'd arrange to meet up if I can get to you - most likely if you're in either NE England or London area. Otherwise I could give you a call or we can just chat by email. The research is run to professional ethical standards including anonymity.

Hope to hear from you.

Matt

Hi Matt - I'll start the ball riolling by saying that digital hasn't changed my photography as I've never used film. If digital hadn't come along I may well have not got into photography at all. However, whichever way you look at it, it's a long steep learning curve. If you need more info just post.

By the way - welcome to The Photography Forums, there is a Welcome Forum where you might like to introduce yourself and you may get a wider audience for your project.

regards

i'd say that it's simply let me take more photos. the costs of processing and the time waiting for it to be some were a pain in the ass really. i still use film, but much less often.

it's also let me be more in control of the processing which is good and bad as i miss the excitement of getting photos back from the lab and i can spend an age deciding on silly little minutiae (sp?). but on the whole i enjoy the control and the ability to experiment.

Digital bought me into photography, its not something i ever considered before digital, that made it far more accesable to me and many others im sure!