How to Manual focus properly????

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
No
Hi

Yesterday i bought this Asahi/Pentax 50mm f1.8/55 lens for £25 and i have it planted on the front of my Canon 400D.

Pentax03.jpg

When trying it out i had a lot of pics that were out of focus as i have never done manual focusing before. It's not so bad on subjects a few feet away but close up especially it's very difficult to get the focus right as all i have to go by is the bit you look through on the camera. I don't have live view so i can't zoom in from the screen and focus from there, all i have is the eye piece.

So... When focusing i turn the focus ring until the subject is in focus and then stop when the subject blurs. I then go back until the subject looks in focus but there is about half a turn on the lens where the subject looks in focus but when viewing the results on the pc they are out of focus.

So whats the best thing to do? now bare in mind that when i played with the lens it was quite dull even outside. Will this be easier when it's sunny. Also is it best to keep a distance from the subject?

If i turn the lens half way to between each time the subject blurs, would this be the place to shoot?

Your help much appreciated as this is good fun doing it without the camera's help (except for shutter speed).

but there is about half a turn on the lens where the subject looks in focus but when viewing the results on the pc they are out of focus.

So whats the best thing to do? now

practice.. you already know more about that lens than the rest of us... the more you shoot the more you will get to know it and the more you will know what to do.. you already know that half a turn is no good. A lens like that isnt so off the shelf and you need to get used to its little ...erks

Simple answer I know.. but pretty sure its the right one :)

Some of those old Takumar leses were bitingly sharp. (y)