I'm new to Off Camera Flash. Can you give me any advice?

Edit My Images
Yes
I am looking to take my portraits to the next level. I have used off camera flash once using the following below and was not overly pleased with the result compared to using no flash. I aimed for a 45 degree angle using high speed sync flash. I also noticed that shooting at a f/1.4 aperture was extremely soft and blurry, at f/4, it was much sharper.

* Camera: Canon R6
* Lens: Sigma ART 35mm 1.4 & EF 70-200ii 2.8
* Diffuser: 33mm White Umbrella
* Bracket: Godox S2 Bracket
* Stand: Neewer
* Flash: Godox V1C

Any advice on technique, gear, angles would be much appreciated.

This would be better moved to the lighting section.

A diffuser that size is pointless; even if it was 33cm it's about pointless... but that's not a show stopper; lighting doesn't have to be "soft," and if you do want soft there are other ways of achieving that.

F/1.4 leaves very little room for focus error/movement.

It would be much better to show results, and discuss/describe what you were trying to achieve... I can't give much constructive advice based on pure speculation...

Last edited:
Check your Sigma art 1.4. I went to buy one last year and tried three in the shop, all focused short. The saleman said he wasnt supprised, theres a know issue with them apparently. I then tried the 17-35 1.8 and that was what I bought. That was super sharp wide open.

Not sure where to start as you’ve not said what results you got and what you want to improve?

Firstly though; have you disabled exp simulation? Helps both you and the camera see what you’re doing properly.

Secondly what is it you’re aiming to achieve? Why high speed sync? You haven’t given any indication of your settings.

If it’s any help; I have an R6 and the C1 setting has ISO400, 1/125 and f5.6 as a default setting for using flash.

Add to that my usual camera BBF setup is for the AF-on button to use single point focus for ‘things’ and the * button for eye AF.