Noob

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
This was taken using my phone and tweaked just using standard editing on phone would like to no what people think any tips or hints for any improvement I am fairly new to the world of photography so still learning.

IMG_20230902_192325285_HDR~2.jpg

To get more detail in the shadows you need a fill-in flash or a reflector to bounce the light back into the shadows.
Thank you will bare that in mind does that mean using the camera flash when you say fill-in flash or separate light source.

Welcome to TP, before anyone can offer critique or pointers for improvement, the start point should be 'what were you attempting to achieve?'

What do you like about the shot, and what would you like to have improved?

There's a hundred or more different versions of that shot I could recommend, but what's important is what is it that the photographer wants to convey. Is it about her relationship to the people in the background? Is it about her beauty? The sunset? The beach? Is it about a powerful woman holding aloft a fist? Is she catching a ball, holding a kite? Fishing? Is it intended to evoke a question? The answer may be trivial or deep and meaningful - but that answer drives the intent for the shot, and that drives the photographic techniques required to create that image well.

Photography is pure and simple, it's about making pictures by capturing the light reflected off objects (that's both a science and an artistic truism).

It's a striking picture Chris, well done :D

I think the person in the foreground looks slightly out of focus but it doesn't spoil my enjoyment of the picture. I think it's almost dream like and I can imagine remembering that moment for a long long time. I wonder what's on the end of the string?

Very well spotted and taken Chris :D and welcome to the forum. I hope to see you in other threads. Enjoy! :D

It's a striking picture Chris, well done :D