Polariser?

Name
Dex
Edit My Images
Yes
Evening all

Have bought a polariser to cut reflections on cars and have been told its effective with landscapes but didnt get told why, is this true and if it is what will it do.

Many thanks
Dex

It doesn't know what you are shooting so the effect will be the same. It will cut out glare and it works nicely on clouds, bringing the color out by reducing the reflection.
Keep in mind that they reduce the amount of light by around two full stops.

It doesn't know what you are shooting so the effect will be the same. It will cut out glare and it works nicely on clouds, bringing the color out by reducing the reflection.

You say it reduces light, does this mean that i could use it to smooth water with a long exposure, excuse the noobish question im still new to photography.
It can also cut reflections off foliage making it appear more vibrant, and cut reflections on water, ideal for making a foreground interest of rocks and pebbles under the surface of a lake or stream

Thanks, i never thought of using it to cut out reflections in water, will have a go at that.

You say it reduces light, does this mean that i could use it to smooth water with a long exposure, excuse the noobish question im still new to photography.

Thanks, i never thought of using it to cut out reflections in water, will have a go at that.

Have a look here http://www.polarization.com/water/water.html . There is a Before and After picture of the difference a polarising filter makes when used to block glare on glass.

This is surely the main reason people get a polariser :D!

Absolutely essential if you shoot landscapes with any body of water imo. The sky contrast thing is nice, but you can do similar things PP in photoshop. Water transparency you can't add afterwards (obviously).

Example pic shot with polariser:
4.jpg

Without a polariser the sea would be reflecting the sky, instead of showing the underwater reefs.

it is great for cutting through haze as well