second attempt at macro

They look OK to me,
Just one suggestion for #1,
For macro, pick a flower, or a much smaller group, and get in closer.

As with most things in photography you need work a bit on the composition and focusing the viewers to the subject. For example your pictures have cluttered backgrounds which is distracting.
Hope that helps.

Thank you both for your suggestions. Im still learning how to compose the macro shot so i will take your advice on board Cobra. Do you think I need to raise the fstop nandbytes to get more of a bokeh for background?
All advice is gratefully received.

I agree with the guys, get in, isolate a bug or flower, think about the angle.

What settings and lens are you using?
Are you still stacking?
These will all affect the Bokeh/BG, but I think the most important bit is the distance to the BG the more room behind, the better the Bokeh and BG will look. (Depending what is behind, you'll never lose a house).

Look the insects or flowers at the top of the flower margins and shoot into a open space if possible, if you're shooting down & low use the lowest f# you have on the lens and if stacking just use 2 or 3 frames. I should add if you get really close the lowest f# will slice through a fly/flower with razor thin DOF.

I've just looked at some of mine in hedges, 100mm f3.5 - 4 with one shot.

Keep chipping away (y)

If you have cut flowers in the house, play with those to see how this all affects the image.
Use fabric or card to remove BG if needed.

Last edited:
Do you think I need to raise the fstop nandbytes to get more of a bokeh for background?

As mentioned by Gav its not just about the fstop, its also to do with the distance of the background from the subject.

And when I talk about the background I don't even mean its needs to be blown out of focus. It just needs to work with your subject.