seriously thinking of getting an m/f

Name
joel
Edit My Images
Yes
ok so im a total novice, not really a photographer id say (thats the mrs' thing) though i would like to look into shooting medium format.

ive done a little reading up here and over the net, thing is i have no real idea about brands other than flash guys saying they use rollei 6000s and so on.

bronica and mamiya look good from what ive seen, and of course the price is more attractive. so any advice on a total newbie to m/f on what to look for and which cameras are more reliable than others... and planning for the future which has a good assortment of affordable optics?

im looking around the £200-250 mark for the body as the upper limit if this is helpful?

thanks guys,

joel :)

Assuming you want a SLR and not TLR, then your budget is going to give you options including

Bronica ETR / ETR-Si
Bronica SQ-A
Mamiya 645

You really need to read up the basics of these cameras as various revisions and models were produced over a long time (in particular the Mamiya)

Optics can be expensive when you get dow to 50mm and wider, but normal lenses are pretty reasonable.

For example, last year i bought..

Bronica ETR-Si with waist level finder, 75mm f2.8 lens and 120 film back for £180, then added another film back for £29 and a 150mm f3.5 lens for £90.

Not far off your budget. A 50mm lens would add £250 to that, a 40mm £300. (All dealer supplied, warranted goods).

Take a look on www.mxv.co.uk and www.ffordes.co.uk websites - these 2 tend to have reasonable stock at fair prices. If nothing else they give you a chance to gauge prices.