Thoughts on an Enlarger

• Thread starter slightlytriangle
  • Start date
S

slightlytriangle

Another equipment question post from me I'm afraid, eep. I've started to gather things to set upa temporary darkroom in my bathroom and have come to the point where I need to think about an enlarger. I've vaguely been offered one on Freecycle but it's not very accessible, and I'm just looking for a few tips and a bit of advice anyway :)

I'm looking to buy a black and white one which preferably does 35mm and 120, it'd be best if it came with all the bits it needs (bulb and lens etc) because I fear I don't know enough to choose the right bits to put together at the moment. I know they can be costly but being a student I'd rather not spend too much, I'm not fussy if it's second hand. Any thoughts or reccomendations please? :D (Or better still, does anyone have one they'd like to sell, but I doubt it's worth asking that :LOL:) I know I could just develop and scan, but it's not the same is it? :D

Many thanks all, I shall start posting properly soon instead of just quizzing you all about equipment, hehe :D

Durst or LPL are both good makes with good build quaility and ease of use. deVere are probably the best but also the most expensive in some terms.

Thank you :) Another (possibly very silly) question, can I print black and white with a colour developer? :)

A color developer is a must if you use variable contrast paper and don`t have Ilford filters.

Are colour enlargers more difficult to use than a B&W with ilford filters, easier, or no different? I've only used a B&W enlarger in college and I'm looking for an enlarger myself.

A colour head enlarger is actually much easier to use for multicontrast papers than a b&w head and box of filters.

Not only do you not have to worry about changing, losing or damaging the filters but you can have any point between grades that you want.