Where to start?

Name
Sam
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok, I'm completely new to this film stuff, the last time I used it I was probably 5 years old and took blury out of focus shots of worms (with the same .

I've got a few rolls of film I took back when I was at university and probably not suitable for the local tesco to develop (wine + 'friend' + "hey, you take photographs right?").

Anyway, I digress, this seems to be as good an excuse as any to get into doing my own developing, so I've got a few probably stupid questions to get out the way.

1) What do I need and where do I get it? There seem to be quite a few people on Ebay just selling complete darkrooms, is this as good as any place to start? In which case what should I look for, any particular enlargers to look for/avoid?

2) How do I avoid buying a complete lemon? I guess aything thats been used within the last 30 years won't be being sold, so its all going to have sat in an atic for some length of time. As long as its in good cosmetic condition and the lights come on, is there anything else to worry about?

3) I'm guessing buying film in bulk and some re-loadable cases wil work out cheeper than buying individual rolls, is this the case? If so where di I get it from?

4) The film in question is colour film, I presume it's fairy easy to develop the film then produce B&W prints from this (colour sounds like hard work)?

5) any other tips before I go and suffocate on some fumes?

1.Developer tank, spirals and a thermometer. Ebay or your local camera shop will more than likely stock them. Complete darkrooms usually include equipment for doing your own prints, so if this is the way you'd like to go, you'll need an enlarger. The easier way to do this, though is by scaning in your negatives and printing them digitally, though technically you loose quality over the enlarging method other than with the best high end scanners. You'd be looking at getting an Epson V700/750/4490 or Canon equivalent otherwise.