Woodland Macro - what size reflector do I need?

Name
Geoff
Edit My Images
No
Hello All,
I'm very new to Macro photography as such I thought you guys might be able to assist me, i'm looking to do a little bit of woodland macro photography, I'm thinking pine cones, fungi and maybe some invertebrates. I have picked up a 100mm 2.8 lens and to this end I know I'll need to some additional lighting, so I have picked up a potable LED lamp. I also think I would be well positioned to pick up a reflector of some sort one of those 3 in 1's or 5 in 1's. So here is my question. Ideally I'd like to keep weight/bulk down, what would your recommendation for a reflector, Is a small one 30cm just as good as say 60cm? Circular or triangle shaped? is there a difference in brands?

Thanks in advance.

@moderators - Not sure if this was an equipment thread or macro please move for me if i'm wrong thank you.

Off camera flash with diffuser / reflector panel and a radio trigger - is my macro lighting kit

I too have a 100mm f2.8 lens and use a Nissin Di700 flash with diffuser and trigger to place the flash off camera to give me more control on light direction and power

like this

rSuHrKV.jpg

Les :)

I do for most things tbh, but there’s a company asking me to do some stuff for them but they need jpegs to sell them images on the spot so, no time for editing, so was really just trying to see what the camera can do, and it’s limitations are.
Defiantly of camera flash as for the size of reflector use what suits the job in hand? I use white card and carry scissors.

Ps nice shot Les

Thank you Mart :)

I used a Flash bender for that shot attached the to flash - its a mini soft box

I have also used white card - cheap and cheerful :)

link- https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rogue-Flas...9Y2xpY2tSZWRpcmVjdCZkb05vdExvZ0NsaWNrPXRydWU=

Les