Planning

I'm no expert in still life, I find it's the hardest genre for me personally. I can't stage / set the items up without stepping back and thinking...that looks sh1te. Now to me you've done a good job here and my only criticism (and take it with a pinch of salt as I know naff all) is the left side looks a little bare / empty.

I'm no expert in still life, I find it's the hardest genre for me personally. I can't stage / set the items up without stepping back and thinking...that looks sh1te. Now to me you've done a good job here and my only criticism (and take it with a pinch of salt as I know naff all) is the left side looks a little bare / empty.
Thank you, Adam, I find this very difficult, cheers for the feedback, I wanted the flowers on the right as we read left to right, but then being right handed the mug was also on the right, but I can see what you mean, I need to explore this style more. (y)

The second one for me too Gav.

Well, I'm not going to help you, because I prefer the first. I can't really pin down quite why. Perhaps it is that the second looks more staged, to me. But what do I know?

Well, I'm not going to help you, because I prefer the first. I can't really pin down quite why. Perhaps it is that the second looks more staged, to me. But what do I know?
I had the same feeling looking through the images, I think that's why I picked that one to work & post first.

Thank you for the feedback (y)

The first has nice geometry but looks like a set up still life. The second looks less unreal and so sits in the mind more comfortably.

It's very difficult to make a contrived scene believable.

The first has nice geometry but looks like a set up still life. The second looks less unreal and so sits in the mind more comfortably.
It's very difficult to make a contrived scene believable.

Thank you for the feedback, Toni, I may need to try a leaving something set up for a while and 'use' the space so it could becomes more natural.