Beginner Is a nifty fifty really better than a kit lens?

Name
Robert
Edit My Images
No
Hi, I am a beginner photographer and have recently bought a nifty fifty lens after reading a lot about them on the Internet. I was led to believe I could throw my kit lens away but have found that not to be the case.

The trouble I am having is that whatever I try to take photos of, I can't get a wide enough frame to get all of my subjects in the shot. I never had this problem with my kit lens as I could just zoom out.

It also frustrates me that someone can take a photo of the same thing with their iPhone and get the whole subject in the shot and it looks great. Yet I am stuck not being able to fit the whole subject in.

Can I have some advice please - am I missing something?

I'm afraid you've been caught by the propagandists!
There was a time when the 50mm lens was the only lens many photographers could afford, so they made do with it. When the standard zooms came along, some people tried to make themselves look clever by sneering at the zooms and saying that real photographers used a "nifty 50".

The reality is that a zoom lens is generally far more useful.

At 50mm, the nifty-fifty is likely to be ‘better’ than the standard kit lens. To begin with, it will most probably be sharper, has wider aperture so will be better in low light and give some options for background blur. However, on a crop body (assuming that’s what you have) it can be a bit ‘tight’ for general use. Having a fixed focal length does make you think about what position to take up as part of the creative/compositional process though, rather than just zooming the lens.

I use an EF-S 15-85mm for general photography and think it does a great job.