London - the Usual Bits.

Edit My Images
Yes
Just posted this on another forum, so sorry if you have already seen it.

Can you see Tower Bridge?

img_1898f.jpg

Shot at 300m with Sigma 70-300 and it was a hazy day, but I liked this one simply because it reminded me of the "Where's Wally?" type of books.

Thursday was my first time out with a tripod (which helped me realize the importance of getting a decent head), and as I had to go from Waterloo to London Bridge to get my bus home I decided to walk between them and take advantage of the view...

img_2057f.jpg

img_2062f.jpg

img_2072wf.jpg

img_2080f.jpg

The lights on the towers (left one in particular) and the crest were really bright so I took a second shot underexposed by one stop and using a mask blended those parts into the original short to bring out some detail.

Loads of firsts for me in these - I have never done borders before, let alone proper night shots, blending layers, fixing perspective distortion, and cloning out light trails in the sky (there was a lot of air traffic) - so all constructive comments are greatly appreciated.

Michael.

Well for your first time out with a tripod this is pretty good stuff Michael!! I can't comment on the PS stuff but you certainly seem to have done well exposing for the night stuff :) Look forward to seeing more of your work :)

I like Tower Bridge "Hiding" in the first one!

The night shots are cool too - it's excellent fun isn't it - I had my first go earlier in the year and I'm totally hooked now I must admit! The purple London Eye would be my favourite - where did you focus for the Millenium bridge/Tate Modern one? Looks just a touch soft to my eyes.

Now you've got the bug I'll look forward to seeing more of these!

Very good shots. Be pleased

Yea I like those, especially the coloured reflections in the Tate Modern shot. (y)

i really like those, i wanna get some photo's of the london eye, what shutter speed were you using as i can only do upto 15 seconds.